2018 SYNC Print Competition & Awards

 After 10 years of hosting the SYNC Awards and print competition everything is going to change. Stay tuned for a completely re-designed print competition for 2018. 


Open Judging

Open Judging is scheduled for Thursday, February 22nd beginning at 9:00 a.m. in the upper level of the Baytowne Conference Center. Open judging is encouraged for all SYNC attendees to listen in as the judges critique and share comments about the entries. Print entry is not required to attend open judging.


The 2018 Judges:
Carl Caylor -
Michael Mowbray - 
Kira Derryberry - 
Linda Long -  


SYNC Awards

Information on the SYNC Awards coming this Fall. The SYNC Awards will be held Monday, February 26, 2018. A party will follow the award presentations. 





SYNC wants to help give the industry and more. The Hearts of Fire Award Program was created in January 2013 as a way for the staff of SYNC to be able to give fairly and to many. The goal of this program is to acknowledge an individual or company who makes a difference through their good works, efforts or charity involvement and help bring awareness to their cause, effort or charity.


We honor people/companies who help their neighbors...bring awareness to causes big and small...make us strive to be better...lift our spirits...make our communities a better place...represent the best of our photography industry. These are people/companies who go above and beyond with Hearts of Fire! Help SYNC find these individuals or companies to share their story by submitting a nomination. SYNC wants to help tell their stories of the good, the hopeful and the inspirational.


Nominate an individual or company you know that is making a difference by going above and beyond with a Heart of Fire today!


Nominations will be accepted through December 15, 2017. Click the button below to make your nomination.


Questions? Email



Hearts of Fire Recipients

2013 ~  Travis Gugelman ~ Dando Amor

2014 ~  Matt Hodgman ~ Braddock

2015 ~  Tomayia Colvin ~ Senior Study Hall

2016 ~  Gianella Simon ~ The Dress Project 

2017 ~ Karen Goforth ~ Focus On A Cure 

2018 ~